Corporal Joseph Wheeler came to the Department of Public Safety in 2009. He joined the Department after having served the St. Mary’s County community for twenty years as a Corrections Supervisor with the St. Mary’s County Sheriff’s Office. Corporal Wheeler is currently assigned as the Night shift Patrol Supervisor. He is a certified corrections officer, transport officer, and security officer and is also certified in the use of various firearms.