Seminars & Events

Natural Science & Mathematics Colloquium
Most Wednesdays at 4:40 in Schaefer 106

For updates, like the Colloquium on Facebook.

Program Highlight

Students preparing to drop a pumpkin from a window

The Physics Club organizes many activities for all students who enjoy physics.  


SMP Spotlight

Christine DiMenna (2012), “Search for Fourth Generation Massive Leptons in Various Models with One or Two Extra Dimensions” (with Elliot Russell; mentor: Erin De Pree)

Chris is teaching high school physics and will obtain her Masters of Arts in Teaching (MAT) in secondary education from Johns Hopkins University.

SMCM Physics Alumni + Students + Faculty Gathering

This fall, the Physics Department will host the SMCM Physics Alumni + Students + Faculty Gathering.  This year, the event will focus on careers.

Date: Saturday, October 25
Time: 10AM - 6PM with dinner afterward
Location: Meet in Schaefer Hall, room 106


  • alum keynote talk
  • career panel
  • alumni career "elevator talks"
  • info from the Career Development Center
  • department news
  • updated facilities tour 
  • brief student & faculty research presentations
  • networking & socializing time
  • coffee, snacks, and lunch provided
  • dinner afterward (pay yourself)

Alumni can network and socialize with other physics alumni and with faculty, share experience with current student, and recruit grads/interns for their organization.  
Students can learn about career options and pathways and have recruitment opportunities.  
Faculty can learn about grads careers and other life events, get program feedback, and network for scholarly collaboration opportunities and student internship opportunities. 

There is no charge to attend.  A donation is suggested, but not required.

Click here to register for the 2014 SMCM Physics Alumni + Students + Faculty Gathering, focusing on careers.


Class of 2014

Class of 2014

(left to right)  Dr. Erin De Pree, Allyson Devers, Andrew Ridenour, Kevin Tennyson, Jon Kwolek, Ian Morgan, Mike Warburton, Dr. Ted Tao, Justin Stine, Dr. Michelle Milne
(not pictured)  Ellie Meiser, Pasquale Raico, Bobby Stouffer, Michael Whiteman

Class of 2013

Class of 2013

(left to right)  Dr. Josh Grossman, Jim Moderski, Tristan Epp-Schmidt, Galen Hench, Frank VanGessel, Jeremy Perrin, Dr. Ted Tao, Abby Taylor, and Dr. Erin De Pree
(not pictured) Devon Jerrard, Jessica Marbourg, and Nick Pasko 

Class of 2012

Commencement 2012

(left to right)  Dr. Josh Grossman, Josh Sulfridge, Roger Ding, Elliot Russell, Christine DiMenna (front), Adam Hammett, Rebecca Prasher (front), Dr. Erin De Pree

Class of 2011

2011 Physics graduates

(left to right)  Dr. Erin De Pree, Brian Tennyson, Dave Tondorf-Dick, David Panks, Billy Malouf, Dr. Josh Grossman, Dietrich Kiesewetter, Diana Abells

Alumni Highlights

  • Jeremy Perrin (2013) - attending Cornell University for a Ph.D. in physics
  • Frank VanGessel (2013) - attending University of Maryland for his masters in engineering
  • Roger Ding (2012) - pursuing a Ph.D. in physics at Rice University
  • Christine DiMenna (2012) graduated from Johns Hopkins University with a M.A.T. in Secondary Education and is teaching high school physics
  • Billy Malouf (2011) - attending the Albert Einstein College of Medicine at Yeshiva University in the Bronx (It is the only medical school named after a physicist.)
  • Brian Tennyson (2011) - attending Yale University for a Ph.D. in physics
  • Dietrich Kiesewetter (2011) - studying for his Ph.D. in physics at the Ohio State University
  • Marty McHugh (2010) - pursuing his Ph.D. in physics at George Washington University
  • Michael Damiano (2010) - graduated from law school at the University of Maryland
  • Daniel Powell (2009) - pursuing a Ph.D. in physical chemistry at Northwestern University
  • Travis Horrom (2008) - earned a Ph.D. in physics from the College of William & Mary; now a post-doctoral researcher at the National Institute of Standards & Technology
  • Brian Keating (2003) - earned a Ph.D. in physics from the College of William & Mary and then moved to Hawaii for a post-doctoral position

If you are a St. Mary's College of Maryland Physics alum, we would love to hear from you!  Please send your greetings, updates, links, and photos to Erin De Pree (

alumni at APS DAMOP 2012
Alumni at the 2012 conference of the Division of Atomic, Molecular, and Optical Physics of the American Physical Society in Anaheim, CA.

(left to right)  Dr. Josh Grossman; Jeff Lee '07 (physics doctoral student at the University of Maryland College-College Park); Brian Mosley (political science) '03 (Grassroots Manager for APS); Travis Horrom '08 (physics doctoral student at the College of William & Mary); Sara DeSavage '10 (Naval Air Warfare Center Aircraft Division, now physics doctoral student at the University of Maryland-Baltimore County)