Faculty Spotlight

Dr. Craig N. Streu received a $55,000 grant from the American Chemical Society Petroleum Research Fund for his project “Novel Transition Metal Complexes for Use in Asymmetric Synthesis”.  The funds will be used to support student summer research into new catalysts with applications for the synthesis of pharmaceuticals, amino acids, and/or novel materials.

+ MORE

Getting Hands-On Experience

     

St. Mary's chemistry and biochemistry majors were busy this summer participating in research and medical internships on campus and around the country.  Ashton Engdahl (above) spent her summer developing a green synthesis of functionalized pyrroles on campus with a paid research internship through our campus SMURF program.

Faculty and Staff


Photo of Dr. Paul P. Blanchette

Dr. Paul P. Blanchette
Associate Professor, Physical Chemistry
Office: Goodpaster Hall Room 210
Email: ppblanchette@smcm.edu
Phone Number: (240) 895-4356

Photo of Dr. Leah Eller

Dr. Leah Eller
Assistant Professor, Organic Chemistry
Office: Goodpaster Hall Room 225
Email: lreller@smcm.edu
Phone Number: (240) 895-4352

Photo of Dr. Allan K. Hovland

Dr. Allan K. Hovland
Associate Professor, Inorganic Chemistry
Office: Goodpaster Hall Room 206
Email: akhovland@smcm.edu
Phone Number: (240) 895-4354

Photo of Dr. Andrew Koch

Dr. Andrew Koch
Associate Professor, Organic Chemistry
Office: Goodpaster Hall Room 227
Email: askoch@smcm.edu
Phone Number: (240) 895-4905

Photo of Dr. Randolph K. Larsen, III

Dr. Randolph K. Larsen, III
Department Chair, Associate Professor, Analytical Chemistry
Office: Goodpaster Hall Room 204
Email: rklarsen@smcm.edu
Phone Number: (240) 895-4597

Dr. John Maciejewski
Adjunct Professor, Chemistry

Photo of Dr. Pam S. Mertz

Dr. Pam S. Mertz
Associate Professor, Biochemistry
Office: Goodpaster Hall Room 208
Email: psmertz@smcm.edu
Phone Number: (240) 895-4495

Dr. Elizabeth Monillas
Adjunct Professor, Chemistry
Email: esmonillas@smcm.edu

Photo of Dr. Kelly Y. Neiles

Dr. Kelly Y. Neiles
Assistant Professor, Chemical Education
Office: Goodpaster Hall Room 202
Email: kyneiles@smcm.edu
Phone Number: (240) 895-4452

Photo of Dr. Craig N. Streu

Dr. Craig N. Streu
Assistant Professor, Biochemistry
Office: Goodpaster Hall Room 229
Email: cnstreu@smcm.edu
Phone Number: (240) 895-2179
Personal Website

Photo of Dr. Troy K. Townsend

Dr. Troy K. Townsend
Visiting Assistant Professor
Office: Goodpaster Hall Room 156
Email: tktownsend@smcm.edu
Phone Number: (240) 895-3202

Photo of Doug Hovland

Doug Hovland
Chemistry Lab Coordinator
Office: Goodpaster Hall Room 217
Email: dehovland@smcm.edu
Phone Number: (240) 895-4355

Photo of Dr. Robert H. Goldsmith

Dr. Robert H. Goldsmith
Professor Emeritus
Email: lrhgoldsmith@smcm.edu
Phone Number: (240) 895-4329